Seniority in Sahajayoga


“There is a myth also in Sahaja Yoga, that senior. “He is a very senior Sahaja Yogi”. I mean I don’t understand, what is this ? How can there be seniority in Sahaja Yoga ? Cannot be seniority. No question ! Somebody, say, enters into the sea, some are there for ages standing near the edge of the sea holding on to the earth because they are afraid to swim, and some people who have come only yesterday might be jumping and going ahead and enjoying the sea. So how is it he’s the senior, We do not have this seniority business in Sahaja Yoga. There is No Seniority . Then also there is also another myth, maybe this is an excuse, I don’t know what to say but it is a very common thing to say that he’s a senior Sahaja Yogi or `After all, he’s a senior Sahaja Yogi.’ Can’t understand – It’s like saying, `This donkey is senior, another donkey is not.’

Then another thing that we suffer from very much, very common is this, that “Mother said so.’” Anybody will say “ Ehh Mother said to me , she called me and she said it” “What did she say?” “ Ohh! You are a very great Sahaja Yogi, you are this, you are that.” Now there are two possibilities: One, I might have said it just to befool him, I am Mahamaya, or maybe I must have said all this just to see that, pamper his ego so he gets to Sahaja Yoga and there is something substantial than to eat my head. So “Mother said so.” “Such a great Sahaja Yogi, I’m such and such.” Very bombastic words ! Very bombastic language he would use. Then people are – “Ahh ! What a Sahaja Yogi !” So the judgment of a Sahaja Yogi doesn’t come from what he claims but what he achieves. I’ve seen some Sahaja Yogis are extremely arrogant, also. Extremely arrogant! Think no end of themselves. All that is there. So many Sahaja Yogis I have seen of that kind. That they are very very arrogant and that they try to make a big show out of what great people they are. Humpty Dumpty as they call it.

All right, but what a Sahaja Yogi who is not like that? What is his style is? He will just watch, he’ll witness the whole thing, just enjoy and laugh at what is happening . “What is this man talking like this? What’s the sense of he is talking like this?” A person who is a Sahaja Yogi, is a gem, a gem for which you take him to anywhere, to any place, people will say he’s a gem. My own style is this, that when I see a person or see a Sahaja Yogi anywhere, first thing I go inside myself. First thing, I don’t know if you can do that, I can. And then I see that person in a very different perspective and understand. Because all these powers are with you also. It is not My powers only. You all have these powers, but only difference between you and Me is that I have all Faith in Myself and you have no Faith in yourself.

So we are at a crossing roads where we have to understand who will go higher and who will go lower. You have to find out who is the one who is going to achieve something, and where am I compared to that person ? It is said that you have to suffer, you have to do this and you have to do that – nothing of the kind, by God’s grace, nothing of that kind. So now, what is it ? What will happen to a Sahaja Yogi ? How will you know who is a Sahaja Yogi ? How will you know who is just putting a lip service? Only way is that you evolve, you become like a mirror and you see for yourself what sort of a person he is, and also you see yourself, what you are.”

Navaratri Puja, Cabella ( Italy ), 24 October 1993

About Prasad

I am a simple person. My hobby is to spread Sahajayoga and nourish my growth in sahaja life with blessing of H H Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi. I was re-born as self realized soul from my divine mother on 20th March 2001 at Ram Lila ground, Delhi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

